Book a Tour Book a Tour Enrol Online Enrol Online Prospectus Prospectus

About Us Governance

Ivanhoe Girls’ Grammar School was incorporated in 1922. 

The management of the company and the custody and control of its funds and property is vested in a Board of twelve members, supported by the Company Secretary, comprising:

  • eight elected members who hold office for three years and are eligible to stand for re-election at the completion of that term
  • a nominee of the Ivanhoe Girls’ Old Grammarians Association (IGOGA)
  • a nominee of the vestry of St James’ Anglican Church
  • an educationalist appointed by the Board
  • a nominee of Cooerwull Inc.

Day-to-day management of the School is delegated to the Principal, supported by the School’s executive team. 

Introducing the President of the Board
Karen Frost

Mrs Karen Frost initially joined the Board in 2009 as a nominee of the IGOGA and in 2013 she became an elected member of the Board. In 2016, 2019, 2022 and 2023 she was elected unopposed to the position of President. 

Ms Frost has been directly involved with Ivanhoe Girls' for most of her life. Through the years she has held the position of student, parent, President and committee member of the IGOGA, and committee member of the Parents' Association.

Mrs Frost brings to Ivanhoe Girls' a wealth of experience in building relationships, developing networks and stakeholder management across the public and private sectors. Her role as a senior executive coupled with considerable expertise in the financial and commodity markets and most recently at the Department of Treasury and Finance, ensures she brings to her position as President of the School Board a proven track record in innovative problem-solving and risk management.

Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar School Board
Name Position
Mrs Karen Frost
President (Elected Member)
Ms Kerrie Haynes
Treasurer/Vice President (IGOGA Nominee)
Prof Russell Hoye
Vice President (Elected Member)
Mr Stan McLiesh
Executive (Elected Member/Life Governor)
Mr Peter Smithson
Executive (Elected Member/Life Governor)
Mr Rick Tudor OAM
Executive (Educationalist Appointed by Board)
Mr Anthony Hore
Elected Member
Dr Jean McMullin
Elected Member
Ms Anne Nelson-Page
Elected Member
Mr Anthony Bradstreet
Cooerwull Inc Nominee
Mrs Holly Simonetti
Elected Member
Rev. Mike McNamara
St James Parish

Company Membership – Ivanhoe Girls’ Grammar School

Since 1922, the legally constituted controlling body of Ivanhoe Girls’ Grammar School has been a Company Limited by Guarantee.  All parents/guardians (of current and past students) and past students have the opportunity to become members of this Company.

Membership of the Company entitles members to:

  • nominate for election to the Board of Directors
  • propose or second nominations for election to the Board, and
  • attend Annual General Meetings of the Company and to discuss and vote on business listed on the relevant agenda paper.

The next Company AGM will be held in 2024.

Company membership can be obtained for a period of twenty years for a fee of $20.00 per person, and can then be further extended without payment of any fee at the member’s preference.

To learn more about this opportunity and to access an Application for Membership form, please click on the button below.